Oyo Vanguard
Oyo Vanguard Is Oyo Best Political Online Community Newspaper, publishing News On Politics, Culture, Sports And Entertainment.

Oyo Assembly Begins Impeachment Process Against Makinde’s Deputy •24 Lawmakers Sign Petition, Level Five Allegations Against Olaniyan


Members of the Oyo State House of Assembly, on Wednesday, have leveled five allegations against the Deputy Governor, Engineer Rauf Olaniyan

Twenty four members of the house signed the petition which was read during plenary.

According to the petition, the lawmakers alleged the Deputy Governor of Gross misconduct, abuse of office, financial recklessness, abandonment of office and official duty and insubordination and other offences.

- Advertisement -

Reacting after the petition was read by the Clerk of the House, Yetunde Awe, the Speaker of the House said the petition meets the two-third requirements to initiate the process.

He added that the House would give the Deputy Governor a seven day grace period to respond to the allegations, adding that failure to do so can lead to the commencement of impeachment move.

The window of response takes immediate effect and to lapse on Wednesday June 22.

The petition was signed by the PDP lawmakers.
The House thereafter adjourned till tomorrow, June 16.

The petition entitled “Petition And Notice of Allegations of the Deputy Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency Engineer Rauf Olaniyan” reads in parts.

“Consequent upon listed below, we the under listed elected Honourable members of the 9th assembly hereby allege the Deputy Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency Eng. Rauf Olaniyan with the following allegations:

“Gross misconduct, Abuse of office, Financial recklessness, Abandonment of office,official duty, insubordination and other offences.
“This is in accordance to the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended in 2011. Section 188.”

The lawmakers and constituencies that signed the petition include: Fadeyi Muhammed (Ona Ara), Onaolapo Sanjo (Ogbomosho South), Babalola Olasunkanmi (Egbeda), Adebisi Yussuf (Ibadan Southwest 1), Okedoyin Julius (Saki West) and Adebayo Babajide (Ibadan North 2).
Others are Kehinde Olatunde (Akinyele 2), Olajide Akintunde (Lagelu), Mustapha Akeem (Kajola), Popoola Ademola (Ibadan South East 2), Owolabi Olusola (Ibadan North East 2), Olagoke Olamide (Ibadan North East 1), Olayanji Kazeem (Irepo/Olorunsogo), Ojedokun Peter (Ibarapa North/Centre).

Others are Gbadamosi Saminu (Saki East/Atisbo), Mabaje Adekunle (Iddo), Oluwafowokanmi Oluwafemi (Ibadan Southwest 2), Akeem Adedibu (Iwajowa), Fatokun Ayo (Akinyele 1), Rasak Ademola (Ibadan South East 1), Obadara Akeem (Ibadan North West), Oyekunle Fola (Ibadan North 1), Adetunji Francis (Oluyole).

Recall that the Deputy Governor recently joined the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More