Oyo Vanguard
Oyo Vanguard Is Oyo Best Political Online Community Newspaper, publishing News On Politics, Culture, Sports And Entertainment.

BREAKING: Oyo Assembly Confirms Appointment Of All 10 Commissioner Designates


The Oyo State House of Assembly Wednesday confirmed the appointment of all 10 Commissioner nominees forwarded to it by Governor Seyi Makinde.

Recall that Governor Makinde had last week forwarded the list of the 10 Commissioners to the House of Assembly for screening as five ultimately for reappointment.

Their names were announced on the floor of the House on Wednesday by the Speaker, Adebo Ogundoyin while reading the letter to that effect from Governor Seyi Makinde.

- Advertisement -

The confirmation of the Commissioner nominees followed their appearance with reappointed commissioners giving presentation of reports of their Ministries before the State Legislators.

The five returning former Commissioners are: former Commissioner for Education, Mr Olasunkanmi Olaleye; former Commissioner for Youth and Sports, Seun Fakorede; Information, Culture and Tourism, Wasiu Olatubosun; Commerce Adeniyi Adebisi and the former Commissioner for Lands and Urban Planning, Abdurahman Abduraheem.

The new Commissioner designates confirmed are Mr Abiodun Oni, Professor Misbau Babatunde Adetunji, Mr Segun Olayiwola, Dr Bode Taiwo Ladipo and Alhaja Kafilat Omolabake Olayiwola.

It was gathered that, Prof. Babatunde Misbau Adetunji who is presently the Special Adviser to Makinde on Economic Matters, will be the Commissioner for Budget and Planning while Incident Manager of the State’s COVID-19 Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) Dr Bode Taiwo Ladipo will be Commissioner for Health.

The Lawmakers took turns to ask questions, seek clarifications and give suggestions to the Commissioner designates on moving their various Ministries forward while the Commissioner designates responded one after the other.

The Speaker urged the Commissioners to do more in justifying the confidence reposed in them especially the Governor which led to their reappointment.

Oyo Vanguard recalls that governor Makinde had earlier appointed seven Commissioners. The seven Commissioners were inaugurated last month.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More